Northern Kentucky joining the Horizon League

As first reported by Joe Danneman of Fox 19 in Cincinnati, Northern Kentucky University will be joining the Horizon League effective for the 2015-16 school year. Sources confirmed to PantherU the story was accurate, and the move will be official once NKU school board votes to accept the invitation on Monday.

The move is yet another in a flurry for the Horizon League, which hardly resembles its membership from just 38 months ago in March 2012. Butler and Loyola have left the league, being replaced by Oakland and now Northern Kentucky. The Horizon League will have 10 members for the upcoming school year.

NKU joined Division I for the 2012-13 school year and have finished three of five years provisional D-I status. That means the school is ineligible for the NCAA Tournament for two more years.

More on this story as it develops.


  1. Boyee

    May 10, 2015 at 6:32 pm

    This is good news for Northern Kentucky University, but bad news for the Atlantic Sun Conference, which will be down to 7 schools. Loyola University Chicago was replaced with Oakland University when they left for the Missouri Valley Conference and Butler University will be replaced by Northern Kentucky University after they left for the Atlantic 10 Conference, then the Big East Conference. While it is good the Horizon League is back to 10 members Oakland and Northern Kentucky are definitely not anywhere near the programs that Butler and Loyola had in the Horizon League and to act like they are. I am surprised that Belmont, Robert Morris, Western Illinois, Murray State, Morehead State, UMKC, IUPUI and IUPUFW were not added befor NKU.

    • Boyee

      June 15, 2015 at 9:51 pm

      The Horizon League should add Belmont University as a full member and 1 more to get the league back to 12 schools.

  2. Boyee

    May 11, 2015 at 12:34 am

    It would be good if the Horizon League expanded to 12 schools, to help discourage members from leaving the league. 8 of the 10 current Horizon League schools are came from what is now known as The Summit League. Adding Belmont and Lipscomb would give the league another state (Tennessee) and a inter-city rivalry and it would be contiguous with Kentucky with NKU. Cleveland State University, the University of Detroit Mercy, Northern Kentucky University, University of Wisconsin-Green Bay, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee, Oakland University, University of Illinois at Chicago, Valparaiso University, Wright State University and Youngstown State University now make up a 10 school Horizon League. I wouldn’t doubt the Atlantic Sun tries to raid the Big South for schools to replace East Tennessee State, Mercer and Northern Kentucky.

    • Boyee

      June 15, 2015 at 9:56 pm

      The Atlantic Sun Conference will replace Northern Kentucky University with the New Jersey Institute of Technology (NJIT) on July 1, 2015.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *